Contact Us: Call: 031 572 4042



Travel Information about Zimbabwe

Vicfalls Safari Lodge
Zimbabwe general gallery Map of Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe

The Climate:

Sept to Oct is hot and dry. Nov to Mar, hot and wet. The best time to visit Apr-May and Aug-Sep when the weather is mid with little rain.

Public Holidays:

1 JAN; 14,15,17,18 APR; 1, 25 MAY; 11, 12 AUG; 22, 25, 26 DEC.


The currency of the country is Zimbabwe Dollar.

Foreign travelers to Zimbabwe are expected to make payments in foreign currency South African Rand's or US Dollars are accepted, We advise clients to take small denominations of bank notes as change will be given in Zimbabwean Dollars. National Park and River Usage fees are payable in US Dollar currency only and vary from USD5-USD20 depending on the activity clients take part in.

Due to an unfavourable exchange rate we advise clients against making payments using Credit or Debit cards whilst in Zimbabwe, Visa/MasterCard payments are not always accepted at hotels, activity companies or restaurants in Zimbabwe. Traveler’s cheques are accepted at some hotels or activity companies.

Health Requirements:

Compulsory Vaccinations: None
Recommended Vaccinations: Hepatitis A and Tetanus
Precautions: Malaria prophylaxis

The Victoria Falls:

The world renowned Victoria Falls which the local Kololo tribe call Mosi-oa-tunya (the smoke that thunders) are one of Africa's scenic enchanting sights. They were named after Queen Victoria by the first white man to see them, explorer David Livingstone in 1855.When local people showed him 5,45 million litres of water plunging every minute into a 100 meter deep chasm, David Livingstone was overwhelmed by their splendour and he immediately christened them after his queen. At the falls the Zambezi River is over 1,6 km wide, and plunges into a 106 m deep chasm which runs across the path of the river


The magnificent spectacle of Africa's wildlife is another factor in Zimbabwe's tourist success. No one can fail to be moved or excited by a sight of a herd of elephants moving with a ponderous grace to a waterhole, or rolling in mud-baths like children at play; a lion moving stealthily in pursuit of its quarry, herd of skittish wildebeest or neat zebra, or the seesaw gallop of giraffe. The 'Big Five' i.e. elephant, buffalo, lion, leopard and rhinoceros can all be seen in their natural habitats in the country.

As one of the progressive countries in Africa in the field of wildlife management, Zimbabwe has reserved 5 million hectares or 13 percent of the country's land area as parks or wildlife estates conserving one of the world's largest remaining concentrations of animal life.


One of the greatest engineering achievements of the last century, the construction of the 122m high Kariba Dam wall, has tamed the strength of the great Zambezi and created one of the world's man made lakes. On the shores of the 5180 sq km lake, picturesque resorts, play host to visitors who come to sail, water-ski, sunbathe, fish for the fighting tiger fish, for which Kariba has become famous, or gamble at the casino. Lake Kariba is also fished commercially.

Visa Information:

As KDR Travel do not issue visas the below is given for information purposes only and is subject to change at any time. KDR strongly suggest clients contact their local Zimbabwean visa authorities to get up to date information on Visa requirements and cost of these.

To Foreign Nationals
The Zimbabwe Consulate provides the following core services to foreign nationals:
1) Processing of visa applications.
2) Processing of trade/tourism/investment enquiries and other business related information.
3) Provision of application forms for temporary employment permits, residence permits and citizenship.
4) Provision of general information on Zimbabwe.


Visa requirements for entry to Zimbabwe were revised on July 19 2001 according to the following categories:

Category A:

Countries whose nationals do not require visas viz:
Antigua, Aruba , Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Barduda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cyprus,Democratic Republic of Congo, Grenada, Guyana, Hong Kong, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Leeward Islands, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Samoa Western, Singapore, Solomon Island, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga. Trinidad & Tobago, Turks and Caicos Island, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu & Zambia.

Category B:

Countries whose nationals are granted visas at the port of entry on payment of the requisite visa fees viz:
Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Cook Island, Denmark, Dominica Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea (South), Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Palau Islands, Palestine (State of), Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico (U.S.A.), Seychelles, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.S.A. United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.),United Kingdom, Vatican, Virgin Islands, (U.S.A.)
* Ghana nationals receive gratis visas at the point of entry.
* UK Passport holders are required to pay Single R562 & Double R710 to get visa
*All other nationals will pay an equivalent of USD 30 for Single & Double USD 45

Category C:

Countries whose nationals are required to apply for and obtain visas prior to traveling viz:
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comores Islands, Congo, Brazzaville, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire,Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Equador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Eyron, Byron, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French West Indies, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Gibraltar, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea(DPRK)
Krygystan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macau, Madagascar, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Nieu, Niger, Nigeria, Norfolk Islands, Northern Mariana Island, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Reunion, Romania, Russia Fed, Rwanda, Samoa (America), San Marino, Sao Tome & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, South Africa (*gratis visas at point of entry for South Africans-Bilateral agreement), Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen Republic Yugoslavia.

Visa Requirements:

  • A passport valid for at least six months
  • Completion of the prescribed forms (available).
  • Payment of the applicable visa fee.
  • All nationals on category B may apply for visas at the Consulate. The fees are payable in rand's at the applicable exchanged rates on the date.


  • Single Entry = Equivalent of US$30 + US$2 fax fees
  • Double Entry = Equivalent of US$45 +US$2 fax fees
  • Multiple Entry = can only be obtained directly from the offices of the Department of Immigration.
  • British Passport Holders: Single Entry= Equivalent of US$55 + US$2 fax fees
  • British Passport Holders: Double Entry= Equivalent of US$70 + US$2 fax fees
  • Direct Transit Visa = USD50.00 + USD 2 fax
  • Multiple Entry USD90 = can only be obtained directly from the offices of the Department of Immigration.

Contact Us established 2002 (as part of KDR) | Run and Managed by the © Southern Routes group of Travel Companies